Settin’ Eggies

Lately I have been slacking on my Aloha Chicken project.  I have had a number of really, really bad hatches–and I was not really wanting to go through the stress of it again.

But, it was time to get crackin’ (no pun intended) so I penned up Patchwork in a separate cage with the seven ladies I was most interested in crossing him with.  Then I dumped my craptastic incubator and invested in a Brinsea–which if I may say—rocks the casbah so far.  It took me MONTHS of egg sales to save up for it, but I am really, really impressed with its performance.

Which is good, because I don’t think I could take the heartbreak of another  bad hatch.

These eggs were originally supposed to go to Sommer, but after some serious phone tag I just set them myself.  I started saving a second batch for her–but after another “whoopsie-doodles” had to set those as well.  More on that later!

This batch is due on March 15th, with the second round due on the 21st.   I’ll keep you posted!

This entry was posted in Chickens, Chickens & Turkeys, The Backyard. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Settin’ Eggies

  1. TT! says:

    I hope that turns out to be an awesome hatch!

    Thanks again for the eggs, and on such short notice! My fingers are crossed for both of us 🙂

  2. lareepqg says:

    No problem! Sorry we didn’t have time to visit for really-reals. Next time 😉

Leave a comment