My new favorite potluck dish

Wow, what an exciting title for this post.

So sorry for the recent absence.  Apparently I have a habit of juggling too many irons.  It goes well for a while, then 2 or 3 fall.

I’m back to a short period of successful juggling!

So, time is a premium for me these days, which is where this incredialicious recipe comes in!

Last Sunday was our annual Sunday school picnic.  The whole congregation attends services on the front yard of one of the founding couple’s farmstead.  After being rained on and windblown we dish up potluck in the garage and emerge just in time to eat in the sunshine.

I have been seriously undermotivated of late, and the last thing I wanted to make was one of those “simple” recipes that takes 12 steps and 24 dishes to make.

So I started digging around on google and viola!

You’ve GOT to try this!  I used 4 colors, but you can use 4 boxes of 2 colors for sports teams, or any holiday theme as long as you keep your quantities the same.

Step One:
Boil 4 cups of water.
Pour contents of 4, 3oz packages of jello into individual dishes.
Add one cup of water to each dish of jello mix and dissolve entirely.
Put all 4 jellos into the fridge to set overnight or for at least 4 hours.

Step Two:
Pour 3 envelopes of Knox clear gelatin into a good sized mixing bowl.  Please Note: one box of Knox contains 4 envelopes.  Don’t be like me and buy 3 boxes…
Add 1/2 cup cold water to the dry gelatin and allow to bloom.  I learned that blooming is when the gelatin begins to swell.  After it blooms add 1 1/2 cups boiling water and dissolve completely.  At this point add 1 can sweetened condensed milk and incorporate fully.  Now allow this mixture to cool.

Step Three:
While the white mixture cools take out your pans of jello and cut into cubes or whatever shapes you want.  Mix them all in a lightly greased bundt pan.  Pour the COOLED white mixture over the jello cubes and refrigerate till set.

To remove from pan dip the pan in warm water for a few moments and invert on a plate.

Have fun!

About sparkles2307

All about me. Well, you’ll learn a lot about me just from Laree’s comments. She’s got a good read on me. We’re “soul sistas” who’ve never met, but that doesnt matter, cause we’re peas in a long-distance-pod.
This entry was posted in Desserts, Ingredients, Kitchen, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My new favorite potluck dish

  1. tazcat70 says:

    Is the reason it is your new favorite because you bought 3 boxes? LOL! That sounds like something I would do. Looks good!

    • sparkles2307 says:

      I assumed that Knox was like Jello and each box had one envelope in it 🙂 No worries, it’ll get used up fast!

Leave a Reply

